Gleneagles Way development

21st April 2017

Witham MP Priti Patel has called on members of Braintree District Council’s Planning Committee to throw out plans for a large development on a field in Hatfield Peverel on land off of Gleneagles Way. The proposals would destroy a greenfield site which has strong landscape and agricultural value. The outline planning application for 120 houses has been recommended by Council officers for approval despite a similar proposal for 145 houses last year being refused and the proposal contradicting current and emerging local planning policies. Priti, who has written to the Council to object to the proposal, said:

“This planning application is opposed by residents across Hatfield Peverel and the Planning Committee should reject it. The development is too large for the site and would destroy this highly regarded greenfield site.”

“Local people in Hatfield Peverel have worked hard to put forward their own Neighbourhood Development Plan which favours alternative sites for housing, including a brownfield site. Approving this site would not only damage the character of the village but undermine the positive action being taken to encourage sensible and sustainable development in the village. Development on this site off of Gleneagles Way has always been opposed and it would be very disappointing for the Council to accept development on this site now.”

A12/A120 Consultations

Strategic Road Network Consultations

There are two important consultations running at the moment on key strategic road infrastructure improvements - the A12 widening scheme and the upgrading of the A120. Priti has been campaigning to secure new investment in these roads and has welcomed the consultations taking place. Members of the public can review the proposals for the A12 and A120 at the weblinks below, attend consultation events, and respond to the consultation. Feel free to also contact Priti by email to: [email protected] with your views too.

Widening the A12

Upgrading the A120

Your Local Councillors

Enter your Postcode below for details of all your elected representatives: