Cyber Security

30th January 2017

GCHQ’s National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) has launched a competition to inspire and encourage girls aged between 13-15 to consider a career in the exciting world of cyber security. Witham MP, Priti Patel, has contacted secondary school Headteachers throughout her constituency to recommend they take part in this unique competition where the top 10 teams will progress to a national final in London where they will compete against each other to investigate and attempt to solve who is behind a crime.

The victorious contestants will take home individual prizes and their school will receive IT equipment to the value of £1,000. Girls will also be given the opportunity to apply for CyberFirst Student Bursary of £4,000 per year of undergraduate study at university. Priti commented:

“GCHQ is a world class institution that protects the UK from all manner of online threats.

The CyberFirst Girls competition allows teams of young girls in my constituency an opportunity to glimpse this exciting world and learn new skills.

I hope it encourages the entrants to consider taking their first steps into this dynamic and very rewarding career.”

Surgery Dates

All surgeries are by appointment only.

To obtain an appointment please email [email protected] or phone 0207 219 3525.

May 18th Witham

May 29th Tiptree

A12/A120 Consultations

Strategic Road Network Consultations

There are two important consultations running at the moment on key strategic road infrastructure improvements - the A12 widening scheme and the upgrading of the A120. Priti has been campaigning to secure new investment in these roads and has welcomed the consultations taking place. Members of the public can review the proposals for the A12 and A120 at the weblinks below, attend consultation events, and respond to the consultation. Feel free to also contact Priti by email to: [email protected] with your views too.

Widening the A12

Upgrading the A120

Your Local Councillors

Enter your Postcode below for details of all your elected representatives: